3 Great ways to prepare vegan pasta

Pasta, in itself, is a vegetarian food as long as it does not contain animal ingredients, such as egg pasta. If, in addition to containing ingredients of vegetable origin, no animal has been involved in the production or distribution process of the pasta, we can speak of vegan pasta. But pasta is usually eaten with sauces that usually contain meat and cheese and are therefore not suitable for people who follow a vegan diet. So, in this post, we want to show you some recipes of vegan pasta to delight your palate.

Vegan pasta pesto sauce

Pesto sauce is very easy to make. However, the traditional recipe includes cheese, so you will have to do without it to make it suitable for vegans.

Ingredients:

40 g fresh basil
40 g extra virgin olive oil
60 g of pine nuts (or any other dried fruit)
2 cloves of garlic
The juice of half a lemon
Salt
Pepper
Preparation:

Peel and chop the garlic cloves.
Place all the ingredients in a bowl and blend them with the help of a mixer.
Enjoy a pesto sauce that is ideal for a good vegan pasta dish!

Some variations:
You can add 1 slightly ripe avocado to make the sauce more creamy.
You can also add a couple of spoonfuls of nutritional yeast or beer, since its taste reminds of cheese and can give it a touch more like the original pesto.

Vegan Pasta Bolognese Sauce

The traditional Bolognese sauce is not suitable for vegans or vegetarians, as it contains minced meat. So, to make a vegan bolognese sauce, replace the meat with lentils.

Ingredients:

100 g of cooked lentils
2 cloves of garlic
½ onion
6 tablespoons of tomato sauce
2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
Salt
Pepper
Preparation:

Peel and slice the onion, and the garlic cloves.
Heat the 2 tablespoons of oil in a frying pan, and add the garlic and onion.
When the garlic and onion are golden brown, add the lentils and tomato sauce, and leave to sauté for a few minutes.
Add salt and pepper to taste and you have your vegan bolognese sauce!

Some variations:
You can replace the lentils with textured soy.
Depending on the texture you want, you can crush the sauce before adding it to the pasta.
You can add some aromatic herbs to give it more flavor like oregano, basil, cumin, thyme, etc.
Again, to give this point of cheese flavor, you can add a little nutritional yeast or beer yeast on top.

Vegan Pasta Carbonara Sauce

The original carbonara sauce is prepared with cream, bacon, egg and cheese, which are not suitable for vegans or vegetarians. Take note of the following recipe for making a vegan-friendly, finger-lickin’ carbonara sauce!

Ingredients:

50 g tofu
2 handfuls of nuts (or other dried fruit)
½ onion
250 mL of soya drink
2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
Nutmeg
Salt
Pepper
Preparation:

Peel and slice the onion.
Dice the tofu and chop the nuts.
Dip the onion in the olive oil, then add the tofu and the nuts. Leave it for a couple of minutes.
Season with salt and pepper and sprinkle with nutmeg.
Add the vegetable drink and turn up the heat to let it evaporate and create a thick sauce.
Your vegan carbonara sauce is ready!

Some variations:
You can use some cornstarch to thicken the sauce.
You can use different types of vegetable drinks, according to your taste: almond, rice, oatmeal, etc.

How about these options to accompany the pasta? They are vegan and therefore suitable for everyone! Enjoy pasta and vegetables, a rich and healthy dish.